Best Novels of the Year

By: Taylor Roberts ~Staff Writer~ All the Light We Cannot See This book holds readers in the palm of its hand with an enthralling story deserving of the Pulitzer Prize it won. Doerr’s hauntingly beautiful prose also won Goodreads Choice Award Winner for best historical fiction. “All the Light We Cannot See” keeps readers captivated with poignant details of a war story that has two compelling souls as the protagonists. This carefully-crafted story grasps its audience with intense and sensual imagery that pours right off the page. Station Eleven Fans of “The Walking Dead” and Shakespeare alike will enjoy Emily … Continue reading Best Novels of the Year

“Spring Awakening” successfully brings teenage angst to life

By: Taylor Roberts ~Staff Writer~ Xavier University’s Director of Theatre, Stephen Skiles, and the cast of ‘Spring Awakening’ brought teenage angst to life in four bold performances last weekend in the Gallagher Student Center Theater. This final production of Xavier Theatre’s 2014-15 season reminded the audience just how tough it is to grow up. This Tony Award-winning musical adapted from a 1891 German tragedy by Frank Wedekind pulled at the audience’s heartstrings like a puppeteer as the characters struggled through controversial issues, such as child abuse, rape, homosexuality, suicide and abortion. The musical takes place in 19th century Germany with … Continue reading “Spring Awakening” successfully brings teenage angst to life

Mount Adams Art Walk returns for 2015

By: Taylor Roberts ~Guest Writer~ Eclectic sounds of soft music and friendly chatter between vendors and patrons filled the streets from 1 to 6 p.m. on April 11 in Mount Adams during their Art Walk. Guests could attend the event for free but had the option to purchase artwork by more than 40 local artists present at the Art Walk. Prices for certain pieces started at $5. “Some items were probably out of students’ price range, but there was some neat jewelry that was very affordable,” junior Jaqueline Dauterman said. The Blind Lemon, Longworth’s and 13 other Mount Adams businesses … Continue reading Mount Adams Art Walk returns for 2015