Arts & Entertainment

Best Novels of the Year

By: Taylor Roberts ~Staff Writer~

All the Light We Cannot See
This book holds readers in the palm of its hand with an enthralling story deserving of the Pulitzer Prize it won. Doerr’s hauntingly beautiful prose also won Goodreads Choice Award Winner for best historical fiction. “All the Light We Cannot See” keeps readers captivated with poignant details of a war story that has two compelling souls as the protagonists. This carefully-crafted story grasps its audience with intense and sensual imagery that pours right off the page.

Station Eleven
Fans of “The Walking Dead” and Shakespeare alike will enjoy Emily St. John Mandel’s novel that also won the National Book Award for Fiction. This radiant book deals with a pandemic, a traveling theatre group and the woes of living in a post-apocalyptic universe.All-Light-We-Cannot-See

The intricate plot and thoughtful details make it hard to put this novel down. Readers feeling dystopia fatigue may just get a second wind for this book.

Heir of Fire
Written by New York Times Bestselling Author Sarah J. Mass, the third book in the Throne of Glass series pleases those who have patiently awaited the next “Hunger Games” or “Divergent” series.

The adventures of a heroine staged as a king’s assassin received a 4.6/5 on Goodreads. Soon to be followed by a fourth book, Queen of Shadows, in the fall, this action-packed series promises magic enchanting enough for Harry Potter fans and a love triangle more swoonworthy than Twilight.

Yes Please
Although this book written by Amy Poehler does not stick solely to the typical genre expectations of a memoir, it was a Goodreads Choice Award Winner for humor and offered insightful advice. Poehler’s fiery charisma and quirky writing style offered a fresh perspective on comedy.

The audiobook version provides readers with a treat as Poehler’s narration of amusing anecdotes rolled up into life lessons promise to induce copious amounts of laughter.

Landline
For those readers who ate up “Eleanor & Park” and “Fangirl,” Rainbow Rowell’s latest novel does not disappoint. It was the Goodreads Choice Award Winner for best fiction. Compared to her other books written for young adults, this book is more mature and less idealistic because it deals with marriage and a relationship layered with history.

However, just like her other books, Rowell creates a colorful cast of complex and realistic characters that pull at the heartstrings

1 reply »

  1. Such a beautiful book. Thanks for sharing the wonderful review! If you’re ever interested in some other great book reviews, be sure to follow! Thanks!