Senate elected, some candidates disqualified

By: Micah Price ~Staff Writer~ The SGA senate election took place last week, and the winning candidates have been announced. The senators-elect are: Anthony Luster, Brennan Mullins, Chris Harding, Jacob Jansen, Johnny Srsich, Michael Krauza, Sarah Ochieng, Sunny Guo and Sylvia Chemweno. In addition, the winning write in candidates are: Benmun Damul, Brandon Luther, Dan Celani, Ethan Alter, Johnese Sherron, Jonathan Pickman, Josh Tye, Luis Gomez, McKenzie Lauver, Owen Grieves and Valerie Okpadile. The voter turnout was about 9 percent of the undergraduate population, with 420 votes cast. First-year student Jacob Jansen expressed his hopes for the coming term. “I hope … Continue reading Senate elected, some candidates disqualified

SGA Senator Elections

By: Jessica Griggs ~Campus News Editor~ As election season comes to a close, Student Government Association (SGA) will hold the Senate election beginning at 8 a.m. Nov. 4 and ending at 4 p.m. Nov. 5. The Board of Elections announced that there are 11 candidates running for office. Those who are elected will begin their terms in January. In previous years, senators served for a school year, but a new election cycle was approved last semester that changed the term length to a full calendar year, mirroring the new SGA executive terms. As senators, those elected will serve on one … Continue reading SGA Senator Elections