SGA Senator Elections

By: Jessica Griggs ~Campus News Editor~

As election season comes to a close, Student Government Association (SGA) will hold the Senate election beginning at 8 a.m. Nov. 4 and ending at 4 p.m. Nov. 5.

The Board of Elections announced that there are 11 candidates running for office. Those who are elected will begin their terms in January. In previous years, senators served for a school year, but a new election cycle was approved last semester that changed the term length to a full calendar year, mirroring the new SGA executive terms.

As senators, those elected will serve on one of SGA’s standing committees. These committees focus on specific aspects of student life, and, as members, senators act as mediators between students and the administration. The committees include academic affairs, off-campus living, residential affairs, student organizations and student rights and identity.

The candidates running for Senate positions are:

Mingxin (Sunny) Guo – First Year

Chris Harding – First Year

Jacob Jansen – First Year

Michael Krauza – First Year

Johnny Srsich – First Year

Sylvia Chemweno – Sophomore

Zeina Farhat – Sophomore

Shelby Lauter – Sophomore

Anthony Luster – Sophomore

Brennan Mullins – Sophomore

Sara Ochieng – Junior

To vote in the election, go to during the voting period.