Marvel’s Phase Three

By: Grant Vance ~Staff Writer~

Following the release of the trailer for the upcoming, highly anticipated “Avengers: Age of Ultron,” Marvel Studios gave fans something to look forward to by announcing its entire Phase Three slate.

The announcement, made on Oct. 28 at a surprise press conference at the El Capitan Theater in Hollywood, Calif., announced nine new films from the studio, starting with “Captain America:
Civil War” and ending with “Avengers: Infinity War Part 2.”

The third installment of the Captain America film franchise will begin Phase Three, pitting Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) and Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) against each other in the enormously popular “Civil War” storyline, inspired directly from the Marvel comic-book crossover event.

Also confirmed for “Captain America: Civil War” is “42” star Chadwick Boseman, introducing
Black Panther into the cinematic universe. Along with the addition of “Black Panther” and its own solo film, Marvel Studios also announced the likes of “Doctor Strange,” a female lead in “Captain Marvel” and “Inhumans” to join the already massive roster of characters with their own films.

Aside from the new additions, long-running Marvel franchises will also be continued in Phase Three with the announcement of “Thor: Ragnarok,” “Guardians of the Galaxy 2,” “Avengers: Infinity War Part 1” and “Avengers: Infinity War Part 2.”

Phase 3 photo - moviepilot dot com
Marvel’s recent announcement promises nine new films

“Thor: Ragnarok” (Ragnarok translating to “the end of all things”) is said to have universes shattering effects, much like the events of “Captain America: The Winter Soldier,” while “Avengers: Infinity War Part 2” will end the long-running “Infinity Stone” arc beginning in Phase One of the cinematic universe.

Many exciting things are to come from Marvel’s Phase Three as Marvel Studios continues to awe with its bold cinematic direction. Still to come from Marvel Studio’s Phase Two includes “Avengers: Age of Ultron” and “Ant-Man” in 2015.

Also be on the lookout for Marvel Studio’s upcoming newtelevision programs, including “Agent Carter,” and its Netflix mini-series events including “Daredevil,” “Iron Fist,” “Luke Cage” “Jessica Jones” leading up to their own cross-over: “The Defenders.”

Phase Three begins May 6, 2016 and runs through 2019.